Boats of
Version française   English version
flux RSS
© 1999-2016
Alain Déchorgnat


retourFleur de Mai

Saint-Malo (2009-08_06) - Fleur de Mai
Saint-Malo (2009-08_06)
Fleur de Mai

  More pictures 
Saint-Malo (2009-08_06) Fleur de MaiSaint-Malo (2009-08-15) Fleur de MaiSaint-Malo (2009-08-15) Fleur de MaiSaint-Malo (2009-08-06) Fleur de Mai
Click to enlarge

 Flag France 
 Length28 m 
 Breadth5.85 m
 Draught2.5 m 
 Gross Tonnage80 t 
 Year of build1950 
 ShipyardJacq (Hôpital-Camfrout) 
The Fleur de Mai is a lighter bulk carrier built in 1950 at the Jacq shipyard in Hospital-Camfrout for armaments Francis Azel. Her current home port is Saint Malo and the boat is now a pleasure boat. The Fleur de Mai is the subject of a classification as a historic monument since October 28, 1991.


The Fleur de Mai was used primarily to transport sand on the north Brittany coast and harbor of Brest. She was decommissioned in 1953 and returned to Dunkirk in 1987. She is one of the last scow barges type of Lampaul. Now she is based in Saint-Malo, Duguay Trouin Basin and belongs to individuals. Fully renovated, the boat can accommodate 22 passengers for daily trips and 14 on cruise. With the help of the association Sensation Littoral, it offers trips to explore the valley of the Rance, the Bay of Saint-Malo, the Ebihens island and the archipelago of Chausey.


Beginning in November 2009, The Fleur de Mai severed Amaris and ran aground on rocks at Paluden, the bottom of Aber Wrac'h. Repairing the damage does not seem too much problems, but the vessel is out of breath and needs a thorough restoration. The three owners then seek a solution to finance the restoration estimated at over ten thousand hours of work.

(Sources, Chasse-Maree ...)

Website of the boat:

Last update : 2010-05-22